Close up macro photography and Camera equipment

Since being in Australia I have wanted to improve my camera skills. I’m sure I will have plenty more opportunities to practice whilst traveling. I recently bought a new lens attachment for my camera. I wanted a macro lens but sadly my budget will not allow it although I did a bit of research and managed to get a Raynox DCR 250 lens from eBay for about $80. Here are few experimental photos I have taken with it so far:

I still need to improve but it gave me a chance to play with the aperture. The downside of using this lens is that it’s an attachment which increases the magnification of whichever lens you have attached. This means the auto focus on the camera is pretty useless so you have to switch to manual. It can be tricky when taking a picture of something that’s moving and I don’t have the steadiest hand.

I invested in my other camera gear before I traveled to Australia and so far everything I have brought with me has been very useful. There are some things I might still purchase such as an extra battery and a lens filter but so far I’ve had no need for them.

My equipment consists of the following:

  • Manfrotto sling bag
  • Canon EOS 550D DSLR
  • Canon EFS 18-55mm Lens
  • Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens
  • LP-E8 Battery and charger
  • USB cable
  • Gorillapod
  • Canon wireless shutter remote
  • Giotto rocket blower

Also now and then both me and Ash take photos using our mobile phone which is OK for a quick instagram snap.

I’m sure there will be plenty more photos coming soon and hopefully I’ll get better at taking them.

IMG_0858

Leave a comment