Salvador Dali, Frida Kahlo, Andy Warhol & Van Gogh – Art in the City

Van Gogh, Dalí and Beyond: The World Reimagined

22 June – 2 December 2013 – Perth Art Gallery, Northbridge WA

This was a visit we did before we moved in to our current home, so about mid June. I’m not sure why we didn’t get around to doing a post about Perth’s Art Gallery exhibition but I have decided to do one now because it was a really good exhibition, showcasing some of the world’s most iconic paintings by Van Gogh, Andy Warhol, Salvador Dali and Frida Kahlo.

The first painting we got to see was Van Gogh ‘s ‘The Olive Trees’ 1889 – very iconic

image

Balthus’s, ‘Joan Miro and His Daughter Dolores’ 1937-38

IMAG1443

Michael Craig-Martin

MichealCraig_Martin

One of my new favourite artists, he has a technical design style which I love and the colours are great, I have a passion for pop art and this reminds me of this style very much.

Frida Kahlo’s, ‘Self Portrait with Cropped Hair’ 1940

image

This is a really great piece especially as there’s a story behind it that many people can translate to, following her divorce from Rivera, Frida chops her hair off and wears his suit to allow for a male role but wearing her earring and heels she maintains her femininity. Also the text around the frame is a Mexican song translated says: ‘look if I loved you it was because of your hair. Now that you are without hair, I don’t love you anymore.’ All in the name of art.

Salvador Dali had numerous pieces but this being the most popular,

Salvador Dali, ‘Illumined Pleasures’ 1929

sean next to salvador dalis painting

I won’t try to explain his reasoning behind his art as let’s face it its surrealism at its best. I love the styles loo e of work though and sean was so excited to see his paintings up close, being his favorite artist.

I was excited to see Andy Warhols work but was bit disappointed there wasn’t more, the piece that was exhibited though was one of my favorites, Elvis Presley Screen print.

image

I love this piece as I’m like the coolness of Elvis Presley and I have a passion for the silk screen technique too. The piece was huge and got Sean to take my picture next to it, yay.

Here’s a few images of some paintings I found visually pleasing, hope you enjoy them too and feel free to leave a comment too.

Chuck Close, ‘Elizabeth’s 1989

Chuck Close ChuckClose_detail

Another artist I had not heard of before this exhibition, Chuck Close. This piece really stood out, not just because of the sheer size but you see it in two ways. When you stand up close you see all these different colored paint strokes and its hypnotic but then when you take a step back you get to take in the whole picture, all the multi colored brush strokes make up this amazing portrait of a lady.


Frantisek Julia, ‘Mme Kupka among Verticles’ 1910-1911

An art piece we both saw in the gallery downstairs that we both thought was amazing was a piece by John Dr Andrea, ‘Allegory: After Courbet’ 1988
image

We first entered the gallery space and I thought it was a real life installation piece but on closer inspection they weren’t real, they were so realistic especially due to the fact that they were dressed in real clothing. I will be checking out his other work so should you.

Leave a Reply

